State specific dental assistant training requirements for Florida, including links to important governing body websites and course providers. Find Florida dental assistant schools here.
Dental Assistants in the state of Florida do not require licenses and may be trained on the job under the supervision of a licensed dentist. The licensed dentist must take full responsibility for each dental assistant.
All Dental Assistants in the state of Florida who will take x-rays must hold a Dental Radiographer Certification.
Certification requires three (3) months continuous experience assisting in the exposing of radiographs under the direct supervision of a Florida licensed dentist, along with the successful completion of a Board of Dentistry approved course. The course must have been completed within 12 months after the on-the-job training.
To perform any expanded functions as listed in the Dental Practice Act, a Dental Assistant must complete an approved course by the Florida Board of Dentistry. A list of approved programs can be found here.
What is the fee to apply for certification? There is a non-refundable fee of $35.
You may find additional information through these links to your state’s official dental board page, or one of our sponsors.
Application for Dental Radiographer Certification – http://floridasdentistry.gov/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/ap_DRC.pdf