Dental Assistant Training Requirements and Programs Georgia

State specific dental assistant training requirements for Georgia, including links to important governing body websites and course providers.  Find dental assistant schools in Georgia here.

Georgia has three types of dental assistants:

  1. Unlicensed Dental Assistant
  2. Unlicensed but trained and permitted to take x-rays
  3. Expanded Duty Dental Assistant

Unlicensed Dental Assistants 

A dental assistant without a license, may perform basic supportive dental procedures, under the supervision of a licensed dentist.  No specific education or training are required, but it is expected that the dental assistant will be familiar with the operations performed in the conduct of a dental practice; specifically, the sterilization of instruments, the general hygiene of the mouth, secretarial work, making appointments and bookkeeping. There are several general duties that may be delegated to dental assistants under the direct supervision of a licensed dentist.  Please find the link at the bottom to the rule outlining these duties.  Dental Assistants may not take x-rays without further training.

Unlicensed Dental Assistants but Trained and Permitted to Take X-Rays

Operators of X-ray machines must complete six hours of radiation safety training.  This rule is regulated by The Georgia Department of Human Services.  Training should begin within 30 days of initial employment and be completed no later than 90 days after employment begins. A Dental Assistant who shows written proof of training has satisfied the requirements of the Dept of Human Services.

Expanded Duty Dental Assistants

To be eligible to take an expanded duty dental assisting course and obtain certification as an Expanded Duty Dental Assistant, the candidate must first:

  1. Possess current certification that the candidate is a Certified Dental Assistant.
  2. Be a graduate of a one (1) year accredited dental assisting program or a dental assisting program approved by the Board or be eligible for graduation.
  3. Have been employed as a chair side assistant by a licensed dentist for a continuous six (6) month period within the previous three (3) years.

 An Expanded Duty Dental Assistant:

  • must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • proof of current CPR certification, 
  • completed an examination demonstrating competency in specific duties that is administered by a licensed dentist on behalf of the accredited dental assistant program, dental hygiene school, dental school or professional association recognized and approved by the Georgia Board of Dentistry
  • a certificate documenting that he or she has successfully completed the course (and exam) pertaining to the specific expanded duties outlined in that certificate (each course must be a minimum of 4 hours)*  

*An expanded duty dental assistant certificate may be issued by an accredited dental assisting program, a dental hygiene school, a dental school or a professional association recognized and approved by the Georgia Board of Dentistry.

Helpful Links:

You may find additional information through these links to your state’s official dental board page, or one of our sponsors.

Find the rule on general duties of dental assistants here – https://gbd.georgia.gov/documents/georgia-dental-law

Find the rule on expanded duty dental assistants here – http://gbd.georgia.gov/sites/gbd.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/150-9-02.pdf

Georgia Board of Dentistry – http://gbd.georgia.gov/