State specific dental assistant training requirements and programs for New Jersey, including links to important governing body websites and course providers. Find dental assistant schools in New Jersey.
New Jersey has three types of Dental Assistants
- Unregistered Dental Assistant
- Dental Radiologic Technologist
- Registered Dental Assistant
Unregistered Dental Assistant
An unregistered dental assistant may perform basic supportive tasks (specified by the Dental Practice Act) under the direct supervision of a licensed dentist.
Dental Radiologic Technologist
Exam fee is $160, License fee is $60.
To be able to take x-rays in the state of New Jersey, you must become licensed in dental radiologic technology, and meet the following requirements:
- Be at least 18 years old;
- Complete at least a high school level education in the United States or its equivalent;
- Complete a dental radiography program approved by the Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners (Board) or its equivalent as determined by the Board. If you graduated from a Board approved program, you must submit the appropriate program completion form signed by a program official. If you did not complete a Board approved program, you must submit information contained in the examination/license appendix and the form to verify any work experience.
- Be of good moral character as determined by the Board;
- Pass either: (a) the Dental Assisting National Board’s (DANB) RHS examination within five years of your application, or (b) Hold a current DANB dental assisting certification, or (c) Pass an equivalent* examination as determined by the Board; and
- Submit to the Department a complete application.
* If you passed another state’s examination within five years of your application, you must submit information from that state agency regarding its licensing examination.
Registered Dental Assistant
To perform expanded functions under the direct supervision of a licensed dentist in New Jersey, you must be licensed as a Registered Dental Assistant. There are 3 ways to obtain a license as a dental assistant in the State of New Jersey.
1. Successfully complete an educational program for dental assistants approved by the Commission on Accreditation within the last ten years and successfully complete the Registered Dental Assistant Examination administered by the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) within ten years prior to the date of application; or
2. Obtain at least two years of work experience as a dental assistant within five years from the date of application; pass the Registered Dental Assistant Examination administered by the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) within ten years of the date of application; successfully complete a Board-approved program in expanded functions; and pass the New Jersey Expanded Functions Examination administered by DANB; or
3. Obtain at least two years of work experience as a dental assistant within five years from the date of application; pass the Registered Dental Assistant Examination administered by DANB within ten years prior to application; and successfully pass (challenge) the New Jersey Expanded Functions Examination administered by DANB.
You may find additional information through these links to your state’s official dental board page, or one of our sponsors.
Technologist Education and Licensing: http://www.nj.gov/dep/rpp/tec/index.htm
Registered Dental Assistant Application: http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/den/Applications/Application-for-Dental-Assistant-License.pdf