State specific dental assistant training requirements and programs for Minnesota, including links to important governing body websites and course providers. Find dental assistant schools in Minnesota.
Minnesota has two types of Dental Assistants
- Dental Assistant
- Licensed Dental Assistant
An unlicensed dental assistant may NOT take x-rays in the state of Minnesota; only a Licensed Dental Assistant may perform dental radiographic procedures. A dental assistant MUST maintain a current CPR certification (verified by employing dentist) and must comply with the most current infection control guidelines.
Licensed Dental Assistant
To become a Licensed Dental Assistant in Minnesota, you must meet the following requirements;
Graduated after September 2004 from a Minnesota dental assisting program that is (1) accredited by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Accreditation and (2) approved by the Minnesota Board of Dentistry.
Passed, within 5 years prior to application for licensure, the Minnesota Licensure State Examination.
Passed, within 5 years prior to application for licensure, the Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination covering the statutes and rules of the Minnesota Board of Dentistry.
Passed, within 5 years prior to application for licensure, the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) Certification Exam.
- American Red Cross or American Heart Association current Healthcare Provider BLS certification
Once all requirements are met, you may complete the Licensure Form and submit it with documentation to the Board of Dentistry. **All proof or verification of completing your education and passing your exams must be notarized.
How much are the fees to become licensed? There are two fees to apply for licensure. One is the application fee, which is non-refundable. This fee is currently $60.50. The second is the initial license fee, and is also non-refundable; however, the Board will inform you of this fee once it is determined that your application is complete. **You will not be legally licensed until your initial license fee is received and processed.
You may find additional information through these links to your state’s official dental board page, or one of our sponsors.
Dental Board of Minnesota – http://mn.gov/boards/dentistry/
Dental Board Licensing Application – http://mn.gov/boards/dentistry/licensure/processingandapplications/dentalassistants.jsp